Changes in the Dorset Road Race League structure

(Agreed at the September DRRL Committee meeting)

History

The current structure of the DRRL consists of two divisions.

The Men's and Ladies teams compete separately, and their divisions operate independently from each other.

In each case the division one consists of 7 teams and the remainder in division two which is 9 or 10 teams.

For the men it is 5 to count for a team in division one and 4 in division two.

For the ladies it is 3 to count in both divisions.

This is a historical feature as in the past we had much less ladies competing but as the table at the end of this document shows the numbers of ladies has increased quite favourably over the last 5-6 years.

This year (well it would have been 2020) we have welcomed two new clubs into the league – Dorchester RIOT and Twemlow TC but we have lost a few over the last few years – Hamworthy Harriers, Bridport Runners & Zoom tri.

Each year the bottom club in division one is relegated and the top club in division two are promoted.

The winning teams are awarded some small mementoes (usually glasses – the team receive the same number of mementoes as in a team e.g. winning team for men in division one get 5 mementoes). We also provide mementoes to the 2nd team in each division.

The proposal below is intended to create more interest for more clubs as they will be aiming for promotion or to avoid relegation.

Agreed changes

- 1. We change from a two division system to a three division system
- 2. That division one and two both have 5 teams with the remainder in division three. That would mean with the current number of teams that there would be 6 in division 3 for the men and 7 for the ladies.
- 3. That the bottom teams of division 1 and 2 are relegated.
- 4. That the top teams of division 2 and 3 are promoted.
- 5. That the number of men to count in a team would be 5,4,3 for divisions one, two, three respectively
- 6. That the number of ladies to count in a team would be 4,3,3 for divisions one, two, three respectively

Additionally

That we continue to award a 2nd prize in division 1 but not in the other divisions

Recent league tables are shown below to get a feel for who it would have affected. It's easy enough to see in league one who would have been in the relegation battle but less clear in league two as we can't easily work out where the clubs in league one would have figured.

2022 – as it stands

	First Division Ladies Teams	
First Division Mens Teams	Egdon Heath Harriers	
Egdon Heath Harriers	Littledown Harriers	
Bournemouth AC	Poole Runners	
Lytchett Manor Striders	Lytchett Manor Striders	
Poole Runners	Bournemouth AC	
Littledown Harriers	Purbeck Runners	
Poole AC	Poole AC	
Dorset Doddlers	Second Division Ladies Teams	
Second Division Mens Teams	Dorchester RIOT	
Twelmlow TC	Dorset Doddlers	
Westbourne	Bournemouth Joggers	
Dorchester RIOT	Westbourne	
Wimborne AC	Weymouth St Pauls Harriers	
Purbeck Runners	Wimborne AC	
Weymouth St Pauls Harriers	Gillingham Trotters	
Royal Manor Portland	Royal Manor Portland	
Christchurch Runners	Twelmlow TC	
Gillingham Trotters	Christchurch Runners	

2019 – Final position

	First Division Ladies Teams	
First Division Mens Teams	Poole Runners	
Bournemouth AC	Egdon Heath Harriers	
Egdon Heath Harriers	Littledown Harriers	
Poole AC	Bournemouth AC	
Littledown Harriers	Lytchett Manor Striders	
Poole Runners	Poole AC	
Dorset Doddlers	Dorset Doddlers	
Westbourne	Second Division Ladies Teams	
Second Division Mens Teams	Purbeck Runners	
Lytchett Manor Striders	Royal Manor Portland	
Wimborne AC	Westbourne	
Purbeck Runners	Wimborne AC	
Royal Manor Portland	Bournemouth Joggers	
Weymouth St Pauls Harriers	Weymouth St Pauls Harriers	
Christchurch Runners	Gillingham Trotters	
Gillingham Trotters	Christchurch Runners	
Hamworthy Harriers	Hamworthy Harriers	

First Division Mens Teams

Bournemouth AC

Poole AC

Poole Runners

Littledown Harriers

Dorset Doddlers

Egdon Heath Harriers

Lytchett Manor Striders

Second Division Mens Teams

Westbourne

Wimborne AC

Purbeck Runners

Royal Manor Portland

Weymouth St Pauls Harriers

Christchurch Runners

Gillingham Trotters

Zoom Tri

Bridport Runners

First Division Ladies Teams

Poole Runners

Littledown Harriers

Bournemouth AC

Poole AC

Egdon Heath Harriers

Lytchett Manor Striders

Westbourne

Second Division Ladies Teams

Dorset Doddlers

Purbeck Runners

Bournemouth Joggers

Wimborne AC

Royal Manor Portland

Weymouth St Pauls Harriers

Gillingham Trotters

Christchurch Runners

Bridport Runners

Zoom Tri

2017 – Final position

Men Div 1

Poole AC

Bournemouth AC

Poole Runners

Littledown Harriers

Egdon Heath Harriers

Lytchett Manor Striders

Westbourne Running Club

Men Div 2

Dorset Doddlers

Purbeck Runners

Wimborne AC

Royal Manor of Portland

Weymouth St Pauls Harriers

Christchurch Runners

Gillingham Trotters

Zoom Tri

Bridport Runners

Ladies Div 1

Littledown Harriers

Bournemouth AC

Poole Runners

Poole AC

Lytchett Manor Striders

Egdon Heath Harriers

Purbeck Runners

Ladies Div 2

Westbourne Running Club

Dorset Doddlers

Wimborne AC

Royal Manor of Portland

Bournemouth Joggers

Weymouth St Pauls Harriers

Gillingham Trotters

Christchurch Runners

Zoom Tri

Bridport Runners

	First Division Ladies Teams	
First Division Mens Teams	Bournemouth AC	
Bournemouth AC	Poole AC	
Littledown Harriers	Littledown Harriers	
Poole Runners	Poole Runners	
Poole AC	Lytchett Manor Striders	
Lytchett Manor Striders	Purbeck Runners	
Egdon Heath Harriers	Wimborne AC	
Wimborne AC	Second Division Ladies Teams	
Second Division Mens Teams	Egdon Heath Harriers	
Westbourne	Westbourne	
Dorset Doddlers	Dorset Doddlers	
Purbeck Runners	Bournemouth Joggers	
Royal Manor Portland	Royal Manor Portland	
Weymouth St Pauls Harriers	Weymouth St Pauls Harriers	
Zoom Tri	Gillingham Trotters	
Christchurch Runners	Zoom Tri	
Gillingham Trotters	Christchurch Runners	
Bridport Runners	Bridport Runners	

2015 – Final position

	First Division Ladies Teams	
First Division Mens Teams	Bournemouth AC	
Bournemouth AC	Poole AC	
Poole AC	Poole Runners	
Littledown Harriers	Littledown Harriers	
Poole Runners	Lytchett Manor Striders	
Lytchett Manor Striders	Wimborne AC	
Wimborne AC	Egdon Heath Harriers	
Purbeck Runners	Second Division Ladies Teams	
Second Division Mens Teams	Purbeck Runners	
Egdon Heath Harriers	Westbourne	
Westbourne	Dorset Doddlers	
Dorset Doddlers	Bournemouth Joggers	
Royal Manor Portland	Royal Manor Portland	
Weymouth St Pauls Harriers	Gillingham Trotters	
Gillingham Trotters	Zoom Tri	
Zoom Tri	Weymouth St Pauls Harriers	
Christchurch Runners	Bridport Runners	
Bridport Runners	Christchurch Runners	

2014 – Final position

	First Division Ladies Teams	
First Division Mens Teams	Bournemouth AC	
Bournemouth AC	Poole AC	
Poole AC	Poole Runners	
Poole Runners	Wimborne AC	
Littledown Harriers	Littledown Harriers	
Purbeck Runners	Egdon Heath Harriers	
Wimborne AC	Bournemouth Joggers	
Egdon Heath Harriers	Second Division Ladies Teams	
Second Division Mens Teams	Lytchett Manor Striders	
Lytchett Manor Striders	Westbourne	
Dorset Doddlers	Purbeck Runners	
Royal Manor Portland	Dorset Doddlers	
Westbourne	Gillingham Trotters	
Weymouth St Pauls Harriers	Royal Manor Portland	
Gillingham Trotters	Weymouth St Pauls Harriers	
Zoom Tri	Zoom Tri	
Christchurch Runners	Christchurch Runners	

Number of competitors

Year	Men	Ladies
2019	548	437
2018	550	399
2017	478	377
2016	517	374
2015	496	303
2014	459	277

2022 after the first 6 races: 331 Men vs 259 ladies.